Join the Movement, Wed July 12 - Walk with a Doc event

July 7, 2017

Haywood Regional Health & Fitness Center (HRHFC) will be holding an event on Wed. July 12 at 9:30 a.m. in honor of a new program at Haywood Regional Medical Center (HRMC), Walk with a Doc. Community members and HRHFC members are encouraged to join in on the movement. Event will be held at the HRHFC main entrance, located at 75 Leroy George Drive, Clyde (adjacent to HRMC).

“The link between exercise and mood is amazingly strong,” says Kate Queen, pulmonologist, Haywood Regional Medical Center. “Walk with a Doc allows participants to engage in healthy lifestyle behaviors and community connection. I’m thrilled this program has reached our community, and you should be a part of it.” 

Event will include:

  • Meet local Haywood doctors
  • Discuss health topics of interest
  • Stretch with an exercise physiologist
  • Engage the healthy lifestyle of walking on the new HRMC Live Well Walking Trail
  • Enjoy healthy grilling tips for summertime with taste tests and recipes from registered dietitian and nutritionist Lauren Teague (grilling will be from 11-12 a.m.)

Walk with a Doc is a national non-profit organization whose mission is to encourage healthy physical activity in people of all ages. It is a unique physician-led program focused on encouraging physical activity among patients and the community. Each walk is hosted by a physical speaking about a health topic of interest. Every walk is FREE and pre-registration is not required. Just show up! Free blood pressure reading are also provided.

Can’t make it Wednesday? Join us on Saturdays at 10 a.m. at Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center - Kern Center or Canton Rec Park for Walk with a Doc. Location varies by date. For more information/current schedule visit MyHaywoodRegional.com/walkwithadoc or find us on Facebook at Facebook.com/walkwithadocHaywood.


 Upcoming walks and locations:

  • Sat, July 15      Lake Junaluska Kern Center                
  • Sat, July 22      Canton Rec Park
  • Sat, July 29      Lake Junaluska Kern Center
  • Sat, Aug 5        Lake Junaluska Kern Center
  • Sat, Aug 12      Canton Rec Park
  • Sat, Aug 19      Canton Rec Park
  • Sat, Aug 26      Lake Junaluska Kern Center
  • Sat, Sept 2       Canton Rec Park        
  • Sat, Sept 9       Lake Junaluska Kern Center    
  • Sat, Sept 16     Canton Rec Park
  • Sat, Sept 23     Lake Junaluska Kern Center    
  • Sat, Sept 30     Canton Rec Park
  • Sat, Oct 7        Lake Junaluska  Kern Center   
  • Sat, Oct 14      Canton Rec Park
  • Sat, Oct 21      Lake Junaluska Kern Center   
  • Sat, Oct 28      Canton Rec Park